It’s His Story

 

I’ve been trying to finish my essay on the structure of the book of Genesis, but I keep running into the need to explain why I disagree with the mainstream academic belief about who wrote down these stories first.  So, I’m going to address that briefly here.

During my studies, I have consistently run into the apparently hardcore and vast majority belief among Ancient Near East/Biblical scholars that Sumer and Egypt recorded the creation and flood stories first (c. 4,000 B.C. to 3,000 B.C.), and that the ancient Hebrews wrote down the creation and flood stories  (recounted in Genesis 1-11.10a) much later.  In listening to Dr. Michael Heiser, on his The Naked Bible Podcast[1], other videos and interviews, and in his book The Unseen Realm,[2] this scholars’ belief has come to the forefront again.

While I understand that this has been the belief of scholars for over a century, based on their understanding of the archeaological record, it has never sat well with me whenever and wherever I read it, especially from Ancient Near East scholars who hold that the Bible is the inspired Word of God. I just think that they are starting their understanding in the wrong place.

I see Biblical scholars as looking first to man and the archealogical record for evidence of when and where these stories originated, and then trying to fit into that cultural context the Bible stories, which were not written in stone and lost for centuries in the sands of the Middle East, but rather preserved by YHWH @Élöhîm eventually on scrolls (whatever the original medium was) and handed down over the millennia in a family line/nation.  In their search for truth, I think that these scholars set aside the Storyteller and His telling of His Story, which He made sure never got lost.

I’ll repeat the premise that the Spirit has me working from:  YHWH @Élöhîm is the Storyteller telling His Story on the stage of the earth in the theatre of the universe in order to accomplish His intended through line.  Of course, He inspired hä@ädhäm (the man) to write down the foundational elements of His Story (Genesis 1-11.10a) BEFORE the rebellious nations started telling rip-off stories after the Tower of Babel and substituting their national ‘gods’ for the only true God.

“I am YHWH; that is My name; and I will not give My glory to another, nor My praise to engraved images.”  (Isaiah 42.8)

Unfortunately, at least it seems to me, the Biblical scholars just don’t get that.  The starting point of understanding is YHWH @Elöhîm, the Creator, and not hä@ädhäm, the creature.

The fear of YHWH is the beginning of wisdom; and the knowledge of the Holy One is understanding.  (Prov 9.10)

I think that this state of affairs grieves YHWH @Élöhîm.  It’s His Story and He went to a great deal of trouble to preserve it so that it would not get lost, but many of those studying His works are giving the glory and praise to the wrong storytellers based on man’s finite understanding and his exalting the archaeological record above all else.

I think that that’s very sad.

May the grace and peace of the Lord Jesus Christ be will you all.

Dori

inkpot4

Footnotes

[1] Heiser, Dr. Michael S.  The Naked Bible Podcasthttp://www.nakedbiblepodcast.com (retrieved 8/19/2016)

[2] Heiser, Dr. Michael S.  The Unseen Realm.  Bellingham, WA: Lexham Press.  2015, 413p.

Leave a comment